Home > Day to Day > A Christmas ‘Togetherness’ List

A Christmas ‘Togetherness’ List

November 29, 2012

Yesterday, I was catching up with some of my favorite blogs and came across one of the best ideas to celebrate the holiday season every day in December leasing up to Christmas.  It’s called 24 Days of Togetherness and it was created by Carrots n’ Cake.  How it works is you come up with a list of 24 things you would like to do each day with your family/husband/significant other starting Dec. 1st.  If you prefer, you could shorten the list to 12 days or whatever you choose.  Cut 24 pieces of paper and write down each item from your list on each piece.  Place the pieces of paper in a container and draw one out each day.

Although I never grew up with an advent calendar and never really knew what one was until now, this is something fairly similar.  I wanted our list of things to consist of things that wouldn’t take up a lot of time in the day/evening or cost a lot of money.  Most importantly, I wanted them to be activities that would meaningful, creative and fun.

Here’s the list of what I came up with after reading Carrots n’ Cake’s personal list, as well as a few additional lists I discovered along the way.

The first will kick off the holiday ‘Togetherness’ season this Sat. Dec. 1st and the remainder will be drawn randomly each day following:

  1. Pick out a Christmas Tree
  2. Make popcorn and watch Nate’s favorite Christmas movie
  3. Take Izzy for a walk
  4. Cook dinner together
  5. Get holiday drinks at Starbucks
  6. Go to a movie
  7. Drive around and look at the Christmas lights
  8. Go for a hike
  9. Bring Izzy to Petco to pick out a Christmas gift
  10. Read a Christmas story to Baby G
  11. Lay under the Christmas tree and make a Christmas wish
  12. Go out for dinner
  13. Buy a Christmas gift for Baby G
  14. Play a game (ie cribbage)
  15. Wear pj’s and watch my favorite Christmas movie (A Charlie Brown Christmas)
  16. Go out for dessert
  17. Walk down El Paseo and window shop
  18. Make breakfast for dinner
  19. Make a romantic dinner by candlelight
  20. Take a holiday pic

    Last year’s pic

  21. Dress up in Christmas colors and go for a run
  22. Star gaze with hot cocoa
  23. Light a fire and listen to Christmas music
  24. Bake Christmas cookies

I love holiday traditions and think this would be a great one for us to start!  One that I loved growing up and continued when Nate and I were first together was the tradition of a holiday ornament.  Each year when I was a child we would get an ornament that would signify something from the year.  With Nate, I try to find an ornament for the two of us that symbolizes our past year together.  I typically have a hard time finding the perfect ornament and haven’t even began the hunt as of yet, but it’s always worth it in the end.

What’s your favorite Christmas movie?

Do you have any holiday traditions?

  1. November 30, 2012 at 5:04 AM

    What a great idea for the holidays! I can’t get enough celebrations.

    One of my favorites is Its A Wonderful Life, it’s my mom’s All-Time fave that rubbed off on me.

    I need to make some more traditions!

    • November 30, 2012 at 5:17 AM

      I don’t think I have ever seen that one…It’s going on my list to watch along with all the others!!!

      OMG, you are getting so close to baby time aren’t you?!? I’m sure you are more than ready to meet him :) I can’t wait to see a pic!

  2. December 3, 2012 at 8:16 PM

    I love all of these ideas!
    I haven’t had a holiday drink from Starbucks yet…I loveee Gingerbread Lattes!
    and oh my gosh Baby G’s due date is my birthday!! spring time baby!
    I hope your week is off to a great start!
    xoxo!

    • December 6, 2012 at 11:11 AM

      We’re heading to Starbucks tonight and I will take your word about the Gingerbread Lattes (unless something else catches my attention ;)!). The only thing I seem to get when I go is a plain, jane Vanilla Latte…I think it’s time to switch things up!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

